FBLA SLC Winners

Last week, Kossuth High School’s FBLA chapter competed at the State Leadership Conference in Tupelo. This conference, held annually, serves as a platform for FBLA chapters from across the state to compete, collaborate, and demonstrate their skills in various business-related events. 21 of 32 competitors qualified to attend the National Leadership Conference in Orlando, FL this summer. 

Kossuth FBLA isn't just about winning awards, though. They also care about giving back to the community. This year, the chapter started a community service project called, “Leading Literacy,” where members of the chapter collaborate, help, and mentor first graders. Through this project, several first graders gained the confidence and academic skills to enable them to greatly improve their overall performance.

The winners are as follows: 

3rd Place

  • Tristan Bowen - Business Communications

  • Bianca Perez - Public Policy and Advocacy

  • Emma Mills - Web Design

  • Ethan Kimbrough - Personal Finance

2nd Place 

  • Gavin Smith - Securities & Investments

  • Alex Houston - Public Service Announcement

  • Ava Fortune - Organizational Leadership

  • Maria Juarez - Graphic Design

  • Ronnie Rice - Digital Video Production

1st Place

  • Michael Accettura, Emma Crabb, Kasen Smith - Community Service Project

  • Holt Waggoner - Broadcast Journalism

  • Cache King - Introduction to Business Communications

  • Carter Wilbanks - Introduction to Information Technology

  • Nellie Johnson - Visual Design

  • Kate McCormack, Kate Johnsey, Ali Newman, Avery Parvin, Natalie Simmons - Parliamentary Procedures 

The chapter also said farewell to our former Northern District Vice-President, Michael Accettura, who is set to graduate in May, and welcomed new NDVP Kate McCormack. The Kossuth Chapter would also like to congratulate new Mississippi FBLA President Luke Baswell, and Parliamentarian Alice Brose, both from Alcorn Central High school.

Emma Crabb was selected as Kossuth High School’s Who’s Who Among FBLA students, and Mrs. Myra Barnes was voted Mississippi FBLA Advisor of the year, with Mrs. Diane Crowell, of Enterprise High School. 

The National Leadership Conference is set for June 28 - July 2 in Orlando, FL. If you are interested in sponsoring Kossuth High School, please reach out to Mrs. Myra Barnes.